Home The Mountain Goats The Mountain Goats To Reissue ‘The Hound Chronicles’ And ‘Hot Garden Stomp’ Cassettes

The Mountain Goats To Reissue ‘The Hound Chronicles’ And ‘Hot Garden Stomp’ Cassettes


Back in the early ‘90s The Mountain Goats, then just the solo moniker of frontman John Darnielle, recorded album after album of lo-fi songs on cassette tape. Now two of those early tapes, The Hound Chronicles and Hot Garden Stomp, will finally be available to modern listeners.

On June 26 Shrimper Records, who originally released the tapes in ’92 and ’93 respectively, will reissue both albums as digital and CD compilations with new liner notes by Darnielle. In those notes Darnielle reflects nostalgically on the tape-trading era, saying, “The obscurity in which these songs were incubated and born and brought into their faint light is a state of being which has passed into history.”

Look out for The Mountain Goats’ new full-length, still tentatively titled Transcendental Youth, due out later this year. [P4K]

The Hound Chronicles/Hot Garden Stomp track list: 

01. The Garden Song
02. Going to Wisconsin
03. Spilling Toward Alpha
04. Alpha Negative
05. The Torch Song
06. Untitled 1
07. The Cow Song
08. Untitled 2
09. Going to Chino
10. Standard Bitter Love Song #4
11. Going to Mexico
12. Lab Rat Blues
13. Going to Kansas
14. The Water Song
15. Going to Spain
16. Keep It on Your Mind
17. Pure Milk
18. Ice Blue
19. Water Song II
20. Sun Song
21. Going to Japan
22. Are You Cleaning Off the Stove
23. The Hot Garden Stomp
24. Love Hymn to Aphrodite
25. Beach House
26. Hello There Howard
27. Going to Norwalk
28. Fresh Cherries in Trinidad
29. Feed This End
30. 15-i
31. Thanks for the Dress
32. Tell Me on a Sunday