Home Radiohead Pitchfork Names Radiohead’s Kid A Album of the Decade

Pitchfork Names Radiohead’s Kid A Album of the Decade



Pitchfork has reached the end of its weeklong countdown of the top 200 albums that its contributors considered to be the best of this decade. There are few surprises in the top 10, except perhaps the lack of an Animal Collective album (although Panda Bear’s Person Pitch hits the number 9 slot). No one will be shocked to learn that Radiohead’s Kid A has topped the chart.


Jay-Z’s The Blueprint is the highest-ranking hip-hop album, coming in at number 5, while Daft Punk’s Discovery (which was originally reviewed by Pitchfork head honcho Ryan Schreiber) represents the world of dance music at number 3. Pitchfork favorites Outkast, who scored the site’s track of the decade with “B.O.B,” come in at number 13 with Stankonia.


Perhaps the most interesting fact is that UK bands performed so poorly—Radiohead’s album is the only record by a band from the UK in the whole top 20. In fact, there are only five non-North American acts (Radiohead, Daft Punk, Sigur Ros, the Avalanches, and the Knife) that make the cut, showing that Pitchfork has stuck very close to home in its choices.


The full top 20 looks like this:



01.  Radiohead – Kid A

02.  Arcade Fire – Funeral

03.  Daft Punk – Discovery

04.  Wilco – Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

05.  Jay-Z – The Blueprint

06.  Modest Mouse – The Moon & Antarctica

07.  The Strokes – Is This It

08.  Sigur Ros – Ágætis Byrjun

09.  Panda Bear – Person Pitch

10.  The Avalanches – Since I Left You

11.  Ghostface Killah – Supreme Clientele

12.  The White Stripes – White Blood Cells

13.  Outkast – Stankonia

14.  Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion

15.  The Knife – Silent Shout

16.  Sufjan Stevens – Illinois

17.  LCD Soundsystem – Sound of Silver

18.  Kanye West – Late Registration

19.  Spoon – Kill the Moonlight

20.  Interpol – Turn on the Bright Lights