Home Pelican Pelican Announce New EP, ‘Ataraxia/Taraxis’

Pelican Announce New EP, ‘Ataraxia/Taraxis’


It’s been a minute since we’ve heard from post-metal overlords Pelican, who dropped one hell of an album in 2009 with What We All Come to Need. But it appears that we’ll be hearing new music from the Chicago quartet pretty damn soon. They’re dropping a brand-new EP, Ataraxia/Taraxis, on April 10 via Southern Lord. It features four tracks of what’s being described as “highlight[ing] the manifold sonic strengths of the band by delving into moments of triumphant melodic rock, smoky doom, ambient soundscape, acoustic desert-folk, and minimalist electronics.” Word. View the track listing below.

  1. Ataraxia
  2. Lathe Biosas
  3. Parasite Colony
  4. Taraxis