Home Mos Def Mos Def Announces <i>The Ecstatic</i> Details

Mos Def Announces The Ecstatic Details


Mos Def is taking time out from his acting career to resume work as a musician.   He has announced details of a new album due in August, titled The Ecstatic, which will be his first record since True Magic was released in 2006. The hip-hop star has previewed the album during a spate of recent live shows.

Numerous special guests have contributed to The Ecstatic. Slick Rick and Talib Kweli are both confirmed to appear, and “Quiet Dog” utilizes a spoken word sample of legendary Nigerian musician Fela Kuti. The late J. Dilla is listed among the producers of the album, which has clearly been recorded over a long period of time.

Full track listing of The Ecstatic:

01 Supermagic
02 Twilite Speedball
03 Auditorium w/The Ruler (featuring Slick Rick)
04 Wahid
05 Priority
06 Quiet Dog
07 Life In Marvellous Times
08 The Embassy
09 No Hay Nada Mas
10 Pistola
11 Pretty Dancer
12 Workers Camp
13 Revelations
14 Roses (featuring Georgia Anne Muldrow)
15 History (feat. Talib Kweli)
16 Casa Bey