Home Kate Bush More Details Revealed For Kate Bush’s ‘Director’s Cut’

More Details Revealed For Kate Bush’s ‘Director’s Cut’


Even though we could all use another proper new album from Kate Bush, this will certainly do. Well, it’ll do for now, at least, as it does kind of feature new material in a different way. As we reported last month, she’s using Director’s Cut as a way to revisit tracks from two of her finest records, The Sensual World and The Red Shoes. What we didn’t know at the time, though, was which cuts she was revamping and just how she was doing it.


According to Consequence of Sound, Director’s Cut includes 11 tracks and one of them, now called “Flower of the Mountain,” has actually been renamed. Bush apparently wrote the original song, “The Sensual World,” using text from James Joyce’s Ulysses. Permission to use the text was denied, though, so she penned her own lyrics instead. But things have changed over time for Bush, who approached using the text again and found some success:

“When I came to work on this project I thought I would ask for permission again and this time they said yes. It is now re-titled ‘Flower Of the Mountain’ and I am delighted that I have had the chance to fulfill the original concept.”

Stream a revamped “Deeper Understanding,” the first single from Director’s Cut, below. And under that, you can peep the track list for the album, which drops May 16.



Director’s Cut track listing:

01 Flower of the Mountain *
02 The Song of Solomon &
03 Deeper Understanding *
04 Lily &
05 The Red Shoes &
06 This Woman’s Work *
07 Moments of Pleasure &
08 Never be Mine *
09 Top of the City &
10 And So is Love &
11 Rubberband Girl &


* Originally on The Sensual World

& Originally on The Red Shoes