Home John Legend John Legend & The Roots Reveal ‘Wake Up!’ Track List

John Legend & The Roots Reveal ‘Wake Up!’ Track List


We learned more about this collaborative project last month when it was announced that the Roots and John Legend’s Wake Up! would be dropping this September. It was announced that it would mostly be filled with covers from the 1960s and ’70s with one new track, “Shine,” written by Legend. We also immediately heard two cuts from the record, “Hard Times” and “Our Generation.” And just weeks later, the track list for Wake Up! has been revealed. It’s good to see that the guest list is relatively slim with only Melanie Fiona and Common helping out on vocal duties as they both appear on “Wake Up Everybody.” Being a Marvin Gaye stan, I really can’t wait to hear “Wholy Holy,” if only to hear how the Roots interpret the musical side of the track.


The track list is as follows:


1. Compared to What
2. Hard Times
3. Little Ghetto Boy
4. Wake Up Everybody feat. Common and Melanie Fiona
5. Our Generation
6. Love the Way It Should Be
7. Hang On in There
8. I Can’t Write Left Handed
9. Wholy Holy
10. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free
11. Shine


Wake Up! is due out Sept. 21.