Home Air Air Dropping New Album, ‘Le Voyage Dans La Lune,’ In February

Air Dropping New Album, ‘Le Voyage Dans La Lune,’ In February


Along with scoring a new film for Cartier, French electronic duo Air also hit the studio to record a full-length album, Le Voyage Dans La Lune (A Trip to the Moon). It’s the follow-up to 2009’s Love 2 and it finds Air again working with the idea of writing a film score. This time, however, they’re putting together a modern soundtrack for 1902 French silent film Le Voyage Dans La Lune by Georges Méliès.

The album is actually an expanded take on the same soundtrack they put together for the updated version of the film that debuted at Cannes earlier this year. It features guest vocals from Au Revoir Simone and Victoria Legrand, of Beach House. Air’s Nicolas Godin released the following statement on the album:

A Trip to the Moon is undoubtedly more organic than most of our past projects. We wanted it to sound ‘handmade,’ knocked together’, a bit like Méliès’ special effects. Everything is played live … like Méliès’ film, our soundtrack is nourished by living art.”

Le Voyage Dans La Lune is due out Feb. 7 on Astralwerks. View the track listing below.

  1. Astronomic Club
  2. Seven Stars
  3. Retour sur terre
  4. Parade
  5. Moon Fever
  6. Sonic Armada
  7. Who Am I Know?
  8. Décollage
  9. Cosmic Trip
  10. Homme lune
  11. Lava