Steve Earle Releasing Townes Van Zandt Tribute in May

One of the biggest influences on Steve Earle’s storied career was the troubadour songwriter Townes Van Zandt. Though Earle has covered Van Zandt before, most memorably on his 1995 acoustic set Train a Comin’, he will do him full justice this May with Townes, a full tribute to Van Zandt’s work. The fifteen songs are all being covered for the first time, and will feature Earle collaborating with Rage Against the Machine’s Tom Morello as well as wife Allison Moorer and son (and Van Zandt namesake) Justin Townes Earle. The collaboration between father and son on "Mr. Mudd and Mr. Gold" marks their first recorded collaboration. Though Van Zandt’s classic "If I Needed You" won’t be found, the track listing indicates a good cross-section of his catalog:


01 Pancho and Lefty
02 White Freightliner Blues
03 Colorado Girl
04 Where I Lead Me
05 Lungs
06 No Place to Fall
07 Loretta
08 Brand New Companion
09 Rake
10 Delta Momma Blues
11 Marie
12 Don’t Take It Too Bad
13 Mr. Mudd and Mr. Gold
14 (Quicksilver Daydreams of) Maria
15 To Live Is to Fly


Townes will be released on May 12 from New West Records. [Pitchfork]