Review ·

If hip cache could make an album great, the self-titled debut by Trouble Andrew (nom-de-bro-rock of former snowboarder Trevor Andrew) would be a  classic. He’s engaged to Santogold (who guests on a song here, and he guested on her album’s worst track), was on Diplo’s Top Ranking mixtape, and he has the best ironic haircut -- the mullet-hawk.


But unfortunately for Andrew, a haircut and all the support from the right people can’t compensate for a lack of ideas, songs that bleed together, corny faux-rapping and lyrics that evoke the worst of rap-rock.


Lyrically, Andrew is a low-budget Fred Durst, spending time to talk about how he’s a “goddamn pimp” (“Pimp Millenium”), comment on women chasing money (“Does your money love you?/ Does your money fuck you?” he says without humor on “Chase Money”), and seriously deliver lyrics like “I got it/ you want it/ you want it/ you got it” on “Be Free.” It’s not that every singer needs to have labyrinthine lyrics, but Andrew presents himself as something “different” when we’ve had guys just like him selling this reductive brand of machismo since  at least the mid-'90s.


Lyrical lameness aside, Trouble Andrew also has an enthusiasm problem. Andrew sounds utterly bored to be around, like he cut the record when he was thinking about anything other than the music he was making. Throughout the album, Andrew’s flat, non-rapping (but definitely not singing) vocals are filtered through a megaphone, like that was the one effect that could make his pitchless croon palatable. And while the effect does work once (on the garage rock rush of “Bang Bang” featuring Santogold) it wears thin even though the album is only 29 minutes long.


At the end of Trouble Andrew, Andrew asks “What’s so strange about me? “ as if he’s been alienated all his life for being a pro snowboarder and being engaged to Santogold. But there’s nothing strange about Andrew, except for that, in a time of economic downturn, he could somehow finagle his way onto the roster of any label, nonetheless a major.






  • Chase Money
  • Bang Bang
  • Uh Oh
  • Youngboy
  • Pimp Millenium
  • Trouble
  • No Good
  • Be Free
  • Either Way
  • What's So Strange About Me
Various Artists - Nobody Knows Anything - DFA Presents Supersoul Recordings The Zero Boys History Of

OK, first I'm not saying I'm a fan of this CD. This guy reminds of an 80s punk reincarnation of Vanilla Ice. But to give this CD a 2 while other CDs on the front page are duping me to actually give them a listen is appalling. The Lafayette Afro Rock Band or Eagle and Talon getting above average ratings? Really? I can't figure this site out and there is no consistency with ratings. I understand alfman here has been pretty consistent with what he reviews, but if you are a relatively newcomer to the site, how am I supposed to know reviewers may have completely different standards when it comes to reviewing music? A christian rock fanatic who chooses to review a Louis the XIV album (granted I'm absolutely not a fan of the group) and gives them an abysmal review doesn't really carry any weight with me, granted they may have been right in that scenario. I need some more consistency to take this site seriously.

A 2? Really?

i see you're point about his flat tone of voice throughout the album.... but i think that lyrics in songs like


I must admit I'm fairly surprised, even impressed with select songs, with this effort. Yeah, the music is poppy and "skater-ish," and while my taste lies with rock and metal, I like it but don't love it. Trouble Andrew has some rock and dance/electronic elements as well. There's a little bit of everything. The first song, "Chase Money," is quite reminiscent of Jeff Beck's "Gamma Ray" (of Modern Guilt) with the muted guitar pickings, beats, and droning vocals. I'd be curious to know whose song came to fruition first. The very next song, "Bang Bang," sounds like a Death From Above 1979 b-side. Ever since that duo disbanded, I've been searching high and low for a band able enough to replicate You're A Woman, I'm A Machine. No, Andrew isn't on that dance level, but the beats and guitar (or bass, whatever it is) of "Bang Bang" are cool.

Unfortunately the rest of the album is fairly lackluster. I can't really say any of the songs minus the first two are memorable. They're all about three minutes long and sound pretty uninspired, but overall better than expected from a snowboarder.


Andrew, lets be honest. Your review reads as though Andrew slept with your girlfriend.


Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments