Review ·


A quietly engaging debut by Australian jazz trio Triosk, Moment Returns finds the group looping and processing its basic drum/bass/keyboard palate to reflect the heavy influence of German electronics-manipulator Jan Jelinek. Conservatory-trained pianist Adrian Klumpes was so impressed by the bubbling vinyl rhythms of the latter’s glitch touchstone Loop-Finding Jazz Records (2001) that his group’s first recorded effort was a collaboration with Jelinek, 1+3+1, released in 2003.

Though the band plays thoroughly competent jazz, the song structures are more often informed by the electronic post-rock movement, especially the textured bass notes of “Awake in the Deep” and the echo-chamber mallets decorating “Tomorrow Today,” which closely resemble mid-period Tortoise. The album’s pinnacle is the nine-minute procession “I Am a Beautiful and Unique Snowflake,” wherein Klumpes’s piano periodically rises above the sparse percussion and wavering electronics to strike a single chord in repetition, falling toward silence before shifting key.

Triosk’s influences may feel obvious, and a good deal of the band’s debut leans toward minor atmospherics, but their jazz credentials immediately set them apart from much of the instrumental-rock school, and their willingness to tinker with style promises that future projects and collaborations will at least be worth noting.

Discuss this review at the Prefix Message Board

Triosk Web site

The Leaf Label Web site

  • The Streets Are Empty
  • Chronosynclastic Infundibula
  • Love Chariot
  • Two; Twelve
  • Tomorrowtoday (Part 1)
  • Tomorrowtoday (Part 2)
  • Re-Ignite
  • Awake In The Deep
  • I Am A Beautiful And Unique Snowflake
  • Goodnight
Palaxy Tracks - Twelve Rooms We Are Wolves Non-Stop Je Te Plie En Deux

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments