Review ·

2008 was a turbulent year for the U.K.-based Tindersticks. After parting ways with founding members Dickon Hinchliffe and Alistair Macaulay, the remaining members of the band opted for a new line-up and a complete dissection of their distinctively brooding, R&B-tinged sound. What resulted was The Hungry Saw, an album so sparse it bordered on bleakness. It was a bold move for a band that had sustained a nearly 20-year career making the kind of wallowing, soulful music you’d be honored to sway to drunkenly at a wedding, with a dancing partner or without. For those who have been following Tindersticks' career up to now, though, Falling Down A Mountain, might come as an even bigger shock.


Opening with the sprawling jazz rollick “Falling Down A Mountain,” Tindersticks almost seem to be toying with its fans' perception of the band. New drummer David Kitt allows his percussive know-how to shake, rattle, and pop with jubilant verve providing, an instantly danceable backbone for the players to build upon. Terry Edwards’ trumpet coasts along washes of ambient guitar feedback, while Staples’ call-and-response mantra, “Baby won’t you come on, baby come on/ Falling down a mountain,” is wonderfully echoed by Dan McKenna’s bass line.


In fact, energetic arrangements hallmark Falling Down A Mountain, from the effortlessly catchy retro sunshine pop of “Harmony Around My Table” to the Velvet Underground-reminiscent Black Smoke.” To a lesser degree, the flamenco guitars and Southwest-inspired landscapes of “She Rode Me Down” sustain this energy, but in the shadow of stronger songwriting elsewhere on the album, the track feels like a sheep in wolf’s clothing.


In true Tindersticks form, some of Falling Down A Mountain’s strongest moments also come in the form of tender balladry. “Peanuts,” a duet with reclusive Canadian singer Mary Margaret O’Hara, is a deceptively simple track about the sacrifices, big and small, one often makes for love. “Keep You Beautiful” is a seductive Bacharach-inspired arrangement made more stoic by Staples’ delicate delivery. While penultimate track “Factory Girls” begins with simplistic piano tinkering that crescendos into a swell of epic chamber pop with David Boulter’s masterful piano playing cascading down the arrangement like stardust.


The album closes with “Piano Music,” an oddly arranged, string-laden instrumental that makes for an appropriate ending to an album of such unlikely beauty and hard won joy. While not the definitive Tindersticks album, Falling Down A Mountain is a compassionate, delicately rendered collection of songs that warrants repeated listening.






  • Falling Down a Mountain
  • Keep You Beautiful
  • Harmony Around My Table
  • Peanuts
  • She Rode Me Down
  • Hubbards Hills
  • Black Smoke
  • No Place So Alone
  • Factory Girls
  • Piano Music

Having split with longtime band members and co-founders Dickon Hinchliffe, Alasdair Macaulay, and Mark Colwill, the three surviving members of Tinderstix -- Stuart A. Staples, Neil Fraser and David Boulter -- spent a great deal of time writing together and, with the help of some additional players, wrote and recorded 2008’s The Hungry Saw. Demonstrating a more pared-down version of their eloquent soul without the assistance of Hinchliffe’s velvety instrumentation, Staples, Fraser, and Boulter proved they were still very much in possession of their mojo. With 2010’s Falling Down A Mountain, the remaining trio have added three new players to the mix and have also, in the process, crafted a lively and thoroughly original new set that manages to capture a timeless feel of nostalgia all the while remaining effortlessly modern.   


Psycho - The Grind Years Keith Sweat Ridin’ Solo

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments