Review ·

The Breeders, as Steve Albini was the first to point out, have always been a twin thing. Even their best work has been full of more inside jokes between Kim and Kelley Deal than the rest of the world is ever likely to know. That can result in unbelievable highs (Pod, “Cannonball,” “Divine Hammer”), or baffling lows (Title TK, the rest of Last Splash).


Mountain Battles, although arguably their bravest album since Pod (the band's 1990 debut), is similarly uneven, while the peaks lack anything approaching the chart-topping potential of “Cannonball” (“Walk It Off” and “Overglazed” probably come the closest). While every Breeders album has been full of filler, the filler here is more eclectic, with traces of twee, salsa, folk, and even Daft Punk.


It's an interesting mix, but unfortunately, the album is never as much fun to listen to as it probably was for the Deal  sisters to make. Even Kim Deal herself has admitted she's not really concered with how her music appeals to the outside world -- which can be frustrating to anyone who doesn't share her identical genes.






  • Overglazed
  • Bang On
  • Night Of Joy
  • We're Gonna Rise
  • German Studies
  • Spark
  • Istanbul
  • Walk It Off
  • Regalame Esta Noche
  • Here No More
  • No Way
  • It's The Love
  • Mountain Battles

With that whole Pixies reunion thing out of the way, Kim Deal can now focus on getting back together with the band she’s second-best known for being a part of, the Breeders. But don’t expect a full-on classic Breeders lineup reunion; sister Kelley is the only other band member still around from the group’s “Cannonball” heyday. Instead, the band is fleshed out by bassist Mando Lopez and drummer Jose Medeles, who also appeared on 2002’s Title TK. Kim Deal has been slowly crafting the songs that appear here over the years since that last record, with recording help from Steve Albini, among others. Kim and Kelley trade vocal duties on Mountain Battles, Kelley even singing in Spanish on “Regalame Esta Noche.”  




Boredoms - Super Roots, Vol. 9 Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!!

This is not a review. It's a one-sheet summary.


Actually it's an album preview posted before the album hit the store shelves (last Friday I believe).
It's something new we're trying...

It's to get an idea of what to expect from the album, kind of like our week in preview feature, before the week in preview feature even comes out.

The URL might be misleading, but a Prefix review may show up here eventually...

Your welcome to add your thoughts on the album right now of course ;)

/site_media/uploads/images/users/pill/mm_broccolijpg.JPG pill

Review is up now.
Top part - Description
Part below - Review

/site_media/uploads/images/users/daba/me-bermudajpg.jpg Daba

I don't get it. Is this two reviews?

Steve B.

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments