Review ·

Detractors will tell you Black Lips’ stage show and persona is all an act. And they’re right. Using your penis to play your guitar, urinating in your own mouth onstage, spitting in the air and trying to catch it, and having a tenuous grasp on sobriety virtually all the time: Those things hid Black Lips’ songwriting deficiencies and got their name circulating when they were,  well, pretty dreadful.


But something interesting happened on the way to punk-rock obscurity for the Atlanta foursome. They developed the ability to craft near-perfect garage rock pastiche. It began to appear in fits and starts on the band’s third album, Let It Bloom, and they had it down by their fifth LP, 2007’s Good Bad Not Evil. The band’s bleary-eyed sixth album (their fifth studio album), 200 Million Thousand, proves that it wasn’t a fluke. It expands on Good Bad Not Evil’s Nuggets pilfering, but it's more self-assured and more cohesive (at least for a Black Lips album).


The major change between Good Bad Not Evil and 200 Million is the recommitment to big, sloppy guitar riffs. After Good Bad sagged with a few middling country experimentations, 200 Million Thousand opens with singer/guitarist Cole Alexander asking if they’re rolling on “Take My Heart,” and continues with one of the most pummeling riffs the Lips have recorded in a catalog full of them. “Again & Again” sways with the collective tension of two distorted guitars, one of which breaks off into raging tangents. Rollicking surf guitars provide acceleration that is attributed to a Plymouth Barracuda in the sweet love song to being high that is “Drugs,” and late highlight “Body Combat” drips with the menace of earlier Black Lips singles while remaining dialed down with a meandering riff and high-note solo.


But this is still a Black Lips record, full of brash songs that could never be pulled off, or even thought of, by more serious bands. That brashness gives us a Grindhouse soundtrack cut (“Trapped in a Basement”), a Western shoot-em-up fantasy that taunts “you can’t be the Jack Johnson of today, big black baby Jesus on the way” (the not-even-joking “Big Black Baby Jesus of Today”) and an ode to bro love (“I’ll Be With You”).


No track highlights the looseness of the Lips better than the Jonestown Massacre suicide tape-sampling “The Drop I Hold,” which features Alexander rapping about blowing your ass away, and Islam, before making sounds like gun shots for the last minute. “The Drop I Hold” could be crushed under its faux self-seriousness, but it somehow makes sense in Black Lips world -- fitting somewhere between goofy curio and semi-decent genre experimentation.


200 Million Thousand has more hooks and is better top-to-bottom than any previous Black Lips effort. The band has finally (and fitfully) outgrown the necessity of playing instruments with genitals and using bodily fluids as shock and awe set pieces. But there’s no way Black Lips are ever going to be one of those bands that “grows up” and walks out onstage without saying a word and stands still while playing all their songs. They don’t have that in them. But they seem to be acknowledging that it can’t last forever. On the sublime “Starting Over” they decide they need to “stop acting stupid,” “stop boozing” and “quit losing.” But instead of starting over, they decide to drink another beer, and everything is fine. And for now, that’s good enough.    







  • Take My Heart
  • Drugs
  • Starting Over
  • Let It Grow
  • Trapped in a Basement
  • Short Fuse
  • I’ll Be With You
  • Again & Again
  • Old Man
  • The Drop I Hold
  • Body Combat
  • Elijah
  • I Saw God

Atlanta's favorite puerile punkers Black Lips have barely taken a day off since the release of their self-titled debut LP in 2003-- they've toured the world over (including Israel!), recorded four albums of increasing quality (the last one, 2007's Good Bad Not Evil is their magnum opus thus far), and cut a raucous live album recorded in all of its debauchery in Mexico (2007's Valientes Del Mundo Nuevo).


The band finally slowed down in late 2008-- they bought a practice space and recorded 200 Million Thousand, an album the band promised would be more melodic than its predecessors. First single "Starting Over" proves that-- its shambling, warbly chorus recalls any number of mid-'60s garage rock bands. The album features 13 other tracks, including one called "Big Black Baby Jesus of Today," and the band is hoping to get a member of Wu-Tang Clan on the album. Whether that pans out or not, the thought of it is enough.  

Animal Collective - Merriweather Post Pavilion Dr. Dre Detox

cant wait for the album now, last one was amazing..couldnt stop playing the tracks..oh and their tour starts today! get ur tickets, so glad i got mine for islington!


I like the album, but I imagine I'll like the songs more live.

/site_media/uploads/images/users/daba/me-bermudajpg.jpg Daba

this new album looks as though its going to be brilliant, the lads are fantastic live, they have a wicked competition running atm too -


Last time I saw them, they weren't doing any of the crazy stuff anymore; Cole Alexander just puked after the first song and kept drinking and performing. That was in early 2007 when they were still trying to prove themselves...maybe they've picked it up again? That was still one of the best live shows I've seen in recent years, mind you.

Hated "Starting Over," though, and thought Let it Bloom was much better than Good Bad Not Evil. We'll see.

/site_media/uploads/images/users/Ethan/nirvana-corporate-rock-whoresjpg.jpg EStan

What Daba said.

/site_media/uploads/images/users/margaritaland/foto2.jpg margaritaland

This gets better with each listen. In fact my 3yr old and I were blasting it in the living room last night and getting our bounce around on.

/site_media/uploads/images/users/Al/batmulletjpg.jpg Al

10/10 from me big time, love every track on their, body combat is a beast!!
they play tracks off the album on vice records monthly radio show, worth a listen if u like good music, new releases and remixes..listen here..


Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments