Review ·

For four albums, the Black Keys’ sound was as obvious as the cover for their sixth album, Brothers: “This is an album by the Black Keys. The name of this album is Brothers.” So even after they took a (slight) left turn on 2008’s Attack & Release via a production team-up with the genre-bending Danger Mouse, even casual listeners had to know that the Keys would beat a hasty retreat to the environs of their skeletal blues-fuzz. Apart from lead single “Tighten Up,” the lone holdover from the now ceased Danger Mouse collaboration, the Keys do just that on Brothers. Produced by guitarist Dan Auerbach and drummer Patrick Carney, Brothers is the Keys’ tightest album since 2004’s Rubber Factory.


Being that the Black Keys’ sound begins with Junior Kimbrough’s skuzzy, raw take on the blues and ends with Credence Clearwater Revival, drawing lines between their catalog is an exercise in cutting the thinnest of hairs. The Keys have delivered some unimpeachable stretches on their albums (the first half of Rubber Factory, the first two-thirds of Thickfreakness, the middle third of The Big Come Up), but since Magic Potion the hit-to-OK ratio has diminished significantly. Brothers, at least through the country-western-on-acid howl of “The Only One,” doubles down on the Black Keys’ greatest strengths in a big way. There are the witchy women burners (“Next Girl,” “She’s Long Gone”), the dusty speaker exploders (“Tighten Up,” “Howlin’ For You”), all of which will surely crush festivalgoers in the near future.


The bulk of Brothers is clogged with the slower blues-ballads the band has padded its albums with since the jump (ironically, those songs hardly ever make it on the set list at the band’s concerts). Granted, those songs might put the Keys more firmly into the blues lineage they strive for, but for every Wall of Sound ditty like “Never Give You Up” there are a couple songs charging hard for treacle territory. But nothing here falls as flat as the similar songs on the band’s past two albums, particularly due to Auerbach’s improved vocal range. He is able to change his voice between delicate, bruised, ballsy and sweet, sometimes in the same song.  


Perhaps the most remarkable thing about Brothers is that it finds the Black Keys so firmly back in their old mode after a year when they did everything they could to distance themselves from their past. Auerbach went solo and released an album that updated his sound to Neil Young and Crazy Horse rock, while Carney joined up in a jokey band made up of Ohio drummers called, of course, Drummer. Then they teamed with Damon Dash (and Jim Jones!) for Blakroc, an album that took all the songwriting pressure off Auerbach and Carney and instead put it on Mos Def and other rappers (and Jim Jones!). Brothers, meanwhile, proves that the Keys can still put a few more miles on their well-driven blues machine, regardless of what direction their non-Keys work takes them.







  • "Everlasting Light"
  • "Next Girl"
  • "Tighten Up"
  • "Howlin’ For You"
  • "She’s Long Gone"
  • "Black Mud"
  • "The Only One"
  • "Too Afraid To Love You"
  • "Ten Cent Pistol"
  • "Sinister Kid"
  • "The Go Getter"
  • "I’m Not The One"
  • "Unknown Brother"
  • "Never Gonna Give You Up"
  • "These Days"

Once dismissed as yet another garage rock revival band in the wake of the White Stripes and the Kills, the Black Keys have proven remarkably durable, having released five albums, four EPs in the aughts. In 2009, guitarist Dan Auerbach released his first solo album to positive reviews, and Patrick Carney duplicated the release with the first album of side project band Drummer. The band also collaborated with hip-hop luminaries no less than RZA and Q-Tip on 2009's Blakroc project. In 2010, the Akron, Ohio duo is returning with Brothers, their third album with Nonesuch Records and first since 2008's Attack and Release.


Brothers was Recorded in Alabama's Muscle Shoals Sound Studio with additional sessions in Akron and Brooklyn The Black Keys will be touring this summer to support the album, and ticket sales are already on the uptick. The album is self-produced, with the exception of one track, "Tighten Up," produced by some guy named Danger Mouse.

Phosphorescent - Here's to Taking It Easy Paul Weller Wake Up The Nation

Album cover added!

/site_media/uploads/images/users/daba/me-bermudajpg.jpg Daba

honestly, I'm a huge Black Keys fan. theyve put out great record after great record for 8 years now, but i have to say, this record is the best thing ive ever heard from them. Theyve come so far from where theyve started, and this may just be their masterpiece.

Think Jay-Z's "Black Album" but even more courageous and well done.


James, you're dead right. First Magic Potion and then Attack and Release had ne convinced they were on the long, slow road to obsolescence. Moreover, I was afraid they'd lost their soul in all the success and critical acclaim.

Brothers, however, is their best album to date. Dan hasn't sounded this alive and excited to be making music since Chulahoma. The /genuineness/ of this album... I sincerely wasn't expecting it. The questioning, "Yey?" at the beginning of She's Long Gone; in-f****ing-deed, gentlemen.


good, not great, but definitely good...


Agree with everything, except for saying that brothers is > magic potion, which was a solid LP imo... lol @ Jim Jones. Blowing smoke into the mic hasn't been cool since tical..


I feel like Magic Potion had three songs, and they were all repeated four times.

/site_media/uploads/images/users/thestorfer/1202393jpeg.jpeg andross

I won't say that Magic Potion isn't slightly repetitive, but I will say that I enjoy the types of tracks that are repeated more than anything on Brothers, aside from maybe Next Girl & Tighten Up.


Loved the album! Whether you think Brothers is good or great it's definitely worth downloading.


I absolutely love this album. Patrick's drumming is great and Dan's vocals are awesome. All around amazing album and well put together. Definitely has that Dangermouse feel to it, but still keeps the old Black Keys riffs and beats.


As a big Black Keys fan living in Scotland, I would say this is up there with their best work to date. Not as rough-and-ready as previous albums, I feel 'Brothers' still has a lot going for it - accessible for the mainstream to enjoy (I'm thinking some upcoming sitcoms / TV advertising), yet written in a way to keep diehard fans happy. One minor thing - I would have liked one more 'barnstormer' within the album - a signature tune for the band to tour with - I only get to see them live once every decade or something!!!


Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments