Review ·

It's been said that Mac McCaughan, frontman for Superchunk and co-owner of Merge Records, is incapable of doing anything untuneful. After hearing his latest solo effort as Portastatic, The Summer of the Shark, I'd be inclined to agree. From the guitar mayhem of "Windy Village" to the throbbing electro-acoustics of "Paratrooper," McCaughan repeatedly proves his skill to create memorable hooks in the context of mature pop music. Sleater-Kinney's Janet Weiss lends depth to McCaughan's youthful vocals on "Oh Come Down," a highlight among highlights on a delightful album that travels the emotional spectrum yet never lacks sincerity or gravity.


Discuss this review at the Prefix Message Board.

  • Oh Come Down
  • In The Lines
  • Windy Village
  • Through A Rainy Lens
  • Don't Disappear
  • Swimming Through Tires
  • Chesapeake
  • Noisy Night
  • Clay Cakes
  • Drill Me
  • Paratrooper
  • Hey Salty
  • Bonus Track 1
Elefant - Sunlight Makes Me Paranoid Pete Yorn Day I Forgot

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments