Review ·

In 2003, Mando Diao howled out of Sweden, nipping at the heels of countrymen the Hellacopters and the Hives with enough fuzzed vocals, overdriven guitar and carbon-monoxide melodies to warrant a spot next to the family Volvo. Hurricane Bar sees the group amp up the hand-clapping choruses and delivers a leaner collection that recalls everything from the Animals and the Small Faces to Hanoi Rocks and the Libertines. Highlights, as substantial as glogg at Christmastime, include "God Knows," the bratty "You Can't Steal My Love," the soulful sing-along "If I Leave You," and the confidently reserved "Ringing Bells."

Discuss this review at the Prefix Message Board

"God Knows" stream

"Clean Town" stream

Mando Diao Web site

Mute Web site

  • Cut The Rope
  • God Knows
  • Clean Town
  • Down In The Past
  • You Can't Steal My Love
  • Added Family
  • Annie's Angle
  • If I Leave You
  • Ringing Bells
  • This Dream Is Over
  • White Wall
  • All My Senses
  • Kingdom & Glory
  • Next To Be Lowered
  • Clean Town - video
  • God Knows - video
  • Down In The Past - video
Iggy Pop - A Million in Prizes: The Iggy Pop Anthology Jamie Lidell Multiply

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments