Review ·

Being forever associated with Metro Area is not too shabby, and since Kelley Polar did the string arrangements on that duo's fantastic self-titled debut (2002), it's a justified fate. Polar's debut record, released on the Environ label, run by Morgan Geist (one half of Metro Area), is disco in the proudest way, with fascinating sounds and instruments rubbing up against each other in a sweaty mess of 0s and 1s. Each hook burrows deep, and each emotional surge is carefully planned and executed. The disciple doesn't quite surpass the teacher here, but this is a far more pop-focused release than Metro Area's full-length. In the Sahara of late 2005/early 2006, this is an oasis.



Discuss this review at The Prefix Message Board   

'Love Songs of the Hanging Gardens' player

Kelley Polar Web site

Environ Records Web site

  • Cosmological Constrancy
  • Here In The Night
  • Tyurangalila
  • My Beauty in the Moon
  • Vocalise (From Here to Polarity)
  • Ashamed of Myself
  • The Rooms in my House Have Many Parties
  • Matter Into Entergy
  • Black Hole
  • In Time
Various Artists - Eccentric Soul: The Deep City Label Mudhoney Under a Billion Suns

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments