Review ·

Few albums in 2008 were quite as intriguing as Life...The Best Game In Town by the reformed noise rockers Harvey Milk. The band can't really be described any other way. Contemporaries of the Jesus Lizard and Sleep in the early '90s, their live shows are still dominated by the same pierced, tattooed droogs you'd find at those shows, and their fanbase is still dominated by people from the South and Midwest. But lately, the members of Harvey Milk have been appyling their sludge to much more intimate territory, and area they've never been to before (at least musically). A Small Turn of Human Kindness expands on the pathos of Life and takes it into much more experimental territory. Like its predecessor, the album is so stunning because of how little it resembles most anything else in the genre.


Life hinted at a new direction, with pockets of quietness mixed in with the noisy but still staying mostly within the confines of traditional rock songwriting. On A Small Turn of Human Kindness, Harvey Milk goes even further on some songs, which are mostly instrumental and sound almost classical in their nature. Lead track "*" recalls Life opener "Death Goes To The Winner" but with amped-up complexity. The rest of the tracks sound almost desert noise rock altogether, going into what occasionally sounds more like classical than it does noise rock.


There's little precedent for this; the closest thing I can think of is "Owner's Lament" by Scratch Acid, a song that mixed delicate synths with shrieking vocals and a harsh rhythm section. On some occasions, A Small Turn of Human Kindness extends that kind of thing even longer over multiple tracks: "I Know This Is All My Fault" is seven minutes of this kind of thing, and it continues through "I Did Not Call Out," the album's final track. These two tracks form nearly half of the album's 38 minutes, and while you can pick out a number of moments where noise sets in, it seems like forever in between.


The traits of noise rock are all still here. Creston Spiers throat-sings in vintage metal fashion, and when guitars, bass, and drums do appear, they're still in the Zeppelin-via-Melvins style that the band has always operated in. But A Small Turn of Human Kindness is a display of how confusing and frustrating growing up can be for those who base their life on discomfort, misery, and thrashing. While lack of tunefulness has rarely been an issue for noise-rock fans, A Small Turn of Human Kindness's abstractness makes it a little less satisfying than its predecessor. But it's still a fascinating product of one of the more fascinating bands working in the bowels of rock 'n' roll today.


  • *
  • I Just Want To Go Home
  • I Am Sick of All This Too
  • I Know This Is No Place For You
  • I Alone Got Up and Left
  • I Know This Is All My Fault
  • I Did Not Call Out

Harvey Milk's 2008 album Life...the Best Game In Town has been a grower, continuing to hold the attential of sludge/noise rock fans long after its year of release. To capitalize on the newfound attention, Harvey Milk rereleased their self-titled debut in 2009 following summer tour dates with Torche and fellow '90s noise rockers The Jesus Lizard, before announcing A Small Touch of Human Kindness the following May. The band's second proper album following their 2006 reunion, A Small Touch of Human Kindness will once again be released on the increasingly essential noise rock label Hydra Head. The band will be touring nationally in the spring prior to the album's release.

Nelly - Nelly 5.0 Suckers Wild Smile

Interesting take. I'd imagine I'd dig this, will have to give it a spin.

/site_media/uploads/images/users/MFB/profilepicjpg.jpg MFB

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments