Review ·

You’ve got to feel sorry for Black Rob. He was once the hardbody prince of Bad Boy Records, had a massive smash with “Whoa,” and parlayed that success into a platinum album. Then he went to prison for robbing people (Well, his rap name has the word “rob” in it, so what did you expect?), and recently resurfaced, freshly down with the dudes at Duck Down records. While it’s a look that fits him better than any Shiny Suit ever could, it all but guarantees he won’t move nearly as many units as he could if he had a music video with Puffy standing beside him whispering sweet nothings into his ear.


Instead, Black Rob drinks the Duck Down Kool-Aid and delivers an album full of retro, New York minor-key aggression, light on adlibs and heavy on gravitas. Black Rob depicts life as he (probably) lives it: full of dealing, going to prison, and celebrating your subsequent release from prison.


These types of albums, vividly detailing street-level dealing, are tailor-made for people who are really into The Wire. When a guy like Roc Marciano or Sean Price makes something in this vein, the result is what might happen if a quirky drug dealer with a winning personality such as Wee-Bey or Prop Joe went and made a rap record. Black Rob, on the other hand, is more like Marlo, one of the more boring characters from The Wire. Marlo would think it was a great idea to record “This Is What It Is,” which has a chorus that repeats the titular phrase ad infinitum over some boringly ominous keys, and then basically re-use the beat for the next song, titled “Up North, This Is What It Is.”


Another thing Black Rob has going against him is his flow, a straight-ahead, lumbering baritone that suggests that though he might have been paroled, he left his energy up north. If he’s spitting over the hooky horns of “Welcome Back,” then it’s fine. The beat is busy enough to distract you from Rob. Most of these tracks are the basic pianos-and-snares stuff that, done well, can be so awesome that it’s the only thing you want to listen to ever. Done poorly, and you’re in for a long album. And even though it clocks in at a scant fifty minutes, Game Tested, Streets Approved feels much longer.

  • Welcome Back
  • Boiling Water
  • Bumpin
  • Can’t Make It In NY
  • Showin Up
  • Celebration
  • Wanna Get Dough
  • Get Involved
  • Sand to the Beach
  • Made Me a Man
  • F*ck Em
  • This Is What It Is
  • Up North – This Is What It Is
  • No Fear f. Sean Price
  • Sh*t (iTunes Bonus)
  • Stand Off (iTunes Bonus)
  • Nothin (iTunes Bonus)

Black Rob's next move after his release from prison in May 2010 remained unknown until about five months later, when he announced his signing to Duck Down Records to release his third album. Game Tested and Street Approved is the Harlem rapper's first release since 2005's The Black Rob Report, which failed to rise up the charts like his 2000 debut, Life Story. But according to AllHipHop, Rob said Game Tested and Street Approved is "testimony of what I stand for and how I feel." In other words, it appears he's put a lot of himself into this album. He's also lined up a solid producer lineup, which includes Buckwild, Self Service, Bishop, Scram Jones and Pete Rock.

Ghostface - Apollo Kids Islaja Keraaminen Paa

Hot album! Support Black Rob and cope this...........


Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments