Review ·

After releasing a Candi Staton compilation in 2004, the Honest Jons label releases (again through Astralwerks) another artist's collection from the Muscle Shoals studios, a treasure trove of Southern soul. But where Staton's work gave off a production sheen that didn't give the music room to breathe, Bettye Swann's work is all soul.


For those of us who think '60s Motown was the pinnacle of musical history, this collection is undiscovered gold. A large portion of the work here is covers of country songs: check the brilliantly transformative renditions of "These Arms of Mine," "Stand By Your Man," and "Today I Started Loving You." This is perfect music from a time when country meant soulful and soulful meant more than statutory rape and driving under the influence.

Discuss this review at the Prefix Message Board

Bettye Swann official site

  • Don't You Ever Get Tired (Of Hurting Me)?
  • (My Heart Is) Closed For The Season
  • I'm Lonely For You
  • Don't Touch Me
  • Little Things Mean A Lot
  • Cover Me
  • Just Because You Can't Be Mine
  • Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye
  • Sweet Dreams
  • You're Up To Your Same Old Tricks Again
  • No Faith No Love
  • Ain't That Peculiar
  • Don't Let It Happen To Us
  • Today I Started Loving You Again
  • Words
  • These Arms Of Mine
  • Tell It Like It Is
  • Stand By Your Man
  • Chained & Bound
  • Willie & Laura Mae Jones
  • Angel Of The Morning
  • Traces
The Occasion - The Occasion Coyote Insides EP

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments