Review ·

For a project originally started as a way for Deerhunter frontman Bradford Cox to give a voice to his despairing isolation (he records completely alone) as a teenager, Atlas Sound is starting to sound like an arena-filling, widescreen pop project. Logos, Cox’s second proper solo album, takes the dense, gray worlds of Let the Blind Lead Those Who Can See, But Cannot Feel and puts them through a rainbow, delivering a splendid album.


If there’s one word to describe Logos, it’s "watery." And in that regard, Logos shares a lot in common with Merriweather Post Pavilion (and Deerhunter’s Rainwater Cassette Exchange from earlier this year). Both albums trade in dreamy avant-pop landscapes buoyed by soggy atmospherics. “Criminals” sways like a shipping vessel in choppy seas, while the album’s great closing third (“My Halo” through the title track) sounds like it was transmitted from that underwater base in the third season of Lost. Cox is still reliant on the general ambiance that envelops his solo work, but here he’s willing to let his vocals float above the mix. And while musically this is brighter, he’s still all Debbie Downer. Old standby lyrical tropes of growing old (on “Sheila” Cox sings “we will grow old” like he’s reassuring someone else), loneliness (“Attic Lights”) and lost hope (“The Light that Failed") show up repeatedly, and he still sounds like he’s on his deathbed when he sings.


But for an album created largely by one guy alone in his room, the guest performances shine the most on Logos. Stereolab’s  Lætitia Sadier wrote the lyrics for “Quick Canal,” a sprawling, shoegazey track that never loses its motorik motion, peaking repeatedly in its eight minutes. The bubbly “Walkabout,” the high-profile track with Animal Collective’s Panda Bear lives up to all the hypertext spilled about it this summer, delivering the best of both Panda Bear’s effervescent youthful innocence and Cox’s wistful yearning.


Logos, while just the second solo album from the frontman for a band of marginal fame, represents the latest and greatest chapter in Cox’s ride to indie stardom. He rose to prominence mid-decade as a confrontational trickster riding blog-hype (circa Cryptograms), continuing with a solo album to build his brand (Let the Blind), an indie-rock masterwork (Microcastle) and a solo album of nearly as high repute (Logos). As for what’s next, Cox has remained mum (though Deerhunter might be taking a hiatus), but with Logos, he ensures we’ll all be waiting.   






  • The Light That Failed
  • An Orchid
  • Walkabout [ft. Noah Lennox (Panda Bear)]
  • Criminals
  • Attic Lights
  • Shelia
  • Quick Canal [ft. Laetitia Sadier]
  • My Halo
  • Kid Klimax
  • Washington School
  • Logos

Logos is the second full length album from Deerhunter man Bradford Cox's solo project Atlas Sound, and his fourth full-length album with both groups in two and a half years (two for Deerhunter, and one as Atlas Sound). Basically, dude is prolific. Cox accidentally leaked an unfinished version of Logos way back in 2008, when someone noticed that they could open a bunch of unreleased material when Cox posted a free Atlas Sound single. When that happened, he claimed he'd never, ever finish Logos, but given that the album has a October 20 release date, and an excellent first single (the Panda Bear-featuring "Walkabout"), Cox had apparently decided to let Internet thieves be bygones, and unleash Logos onto the world. And while a Panda Pear collabo would be more than enough to pique interest in Logos, Cox went and got Stereolab's Laetitia Sadier to guest on a track as well.

Various Artists - Summer's Kiss: A Tribute to the Afghan Whigs The Jayhawks Music from the North Country: The Jayhawks Anthology

What Cox considers blog-throwaways, most bands would die for. Somehow his manic personality makes me think any hiatus won't last long.

/site_media/uploads/images/users/oceanRain/DiS profile pic.jpg oceanRain

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments