Yeasayer Announces New Album Details

    Yeasayer have announced the title, release date, and some insight into the sound of their upcoming album. Fragrant World, the band’s third record, will be released August 21st under the Secretly Canadian label.

    Band member Anand Wilder told Under the Radar that the band was trying to “capture the schizophrenia of what it’s like to be alive today,” and called the album “funky,” listing influences such as Teddy Pendergrass and Alicia Keys.

     “We’re using a lot of sci-fi music elements, and combining them with soul music is our overarching theme,” Wilder said. “I don’t know if that comes across, but I think it does.”

    Fragrant World was recorded in Brooklyn with DFA collaborator Abe Seiferth.

    You can view the tracklist of Fragrant World below:

    01. Fingers Never Bleed
    02. Longevity
    03. Blue Paper
    04. Henrietta
    05. Devil and the Deed
    06. No Bones
    07. Reagan’s Skeleton
    08. Demon Road
    09. Damaged Goods
    10. Folk Hero Shtick
    11. Glass of the Microscope