Widowspeak Announce ‘Almanac,’ Share New Song

    Brooklyn’s Widowspeak debuted in 2011 with a self-assured and moody album recorded by Jarvis Taveniere of Woods. Now they’ve announced its follow-up: Almanac is due Jan. 22 from Captured Tracks. This time, Widowspeak recruited Kevin McMahon, a producer who worked on a number of fantastic contemporary albums: Real Estate’s Days, Titus Andronicus’ The Monitor, and Swans’ The Seer.

    Widowspeak have also shared the Fleetwood Mac-inspired album art and the LP’s first single. “Ballad of the Golden Hour” shows off the band’s melodic loneliness in the form of Molly Hamilton’s fantastic voice and guitarist Robert Thomas’ slightly twangy leads.  Take a listen below and check out the track list along with upcoming tour dates. [P4K]


    Almanac track list:

    01 Perennials
    02 Dyed in the Wool
    03 The Dark Age
    04 Thick as Thieves
    05 Almanac
    06 Ballad of the Golden Hour
    07 Devil Knows
    08 Sore Eyes
    09 Locusts
    10 Minnewaska
    11 Spirit Is Willing
    12 Storm King

    Widowspeak tour dates:

    01.22 New York, NY: Mercury Lounge
    01.23 Philadelphia, PA: Kung Fu Necktie
    01.24 Washington, DC: Black Cat Backstage
    01.26 Middletown, CT: Wesleyan University Eclectic House