Veruca Salt Reunites, Releases New Music

    For the first time in 14 years, the original lineup of Willy Wonka-monikered 90s alt band Veruca Salt will be releasing new music, according to Pitchfork. Nina Gordon, Louise Post, Steve Lack, and Jim Shapiro are all present on the two new tracks that will be released on a 10″ for Record Store Day

    The A-side of the 10″ realeased by their 90s label Minty Fresh will be their biggest hit, “Seether.” The B-side will feature two new songs, “The Museum of Broken Relationships” and “It’s Holy.”

    A statement at their website reads:

    It’s been 14 years but the day has finally come: The original members of Veruca Salt are back together and we’re doing our thing once more. On April 19, Record Store Day, we’re releasing a limited-edition ten-inch. On one side are two brand-new VS songs; on the other side is “Seether,” (a) because this is the 20th anniversary of its original release, and (b) because come on. We recorded the new songs with Brad Wood, and Minty Fresh is putting the record out, just like the first time around. So much more to tell, but we’re too busy relearning all our old songs and recording new ones.

    These will be the first tracks from the original lineup since Nina Gordon left the band in 1998. The band kept going for a while with Post at the helm, but there was no inkling of the original lineup reuniting until a Facebook post last year that cryptically said, “for now let’s just say this: hatchets buried, axes exhumed.”

    Watch “Seether” below.