Toro Y Moi Announces New Album, Describes It As “Sincere Pop”

    Toro Y Moi will add to his already acclaimed catalog, which includes the 2010 LP Causers of This and 2011’s follow-up Underneath the Pine, with a third album, Anything In Return, announced today. Although emerging as one of chillwave’s foremost composers—and flirting with plenty more sounds and genres since—Moi will take a whole new musical direction on this new record.

    “I’m just trying to make sincere pop music that’s not all processed and bubblegum,” he told Interview Magazine. “Underground isn’t always relevant; I want to see what’s popular, then put my own spin on it.”

    His words echo from those of Kanye West, who defined his experimental 2008 effort, 808s & Heartbreak, as “pop art.” The verdict on Ye’s album still seems to be up in the air, but let’s hope Chaz Bundwick can please all ’round with his.

    Anything In Return is due out Jan. 22 via Carpark Records. You can view the cover art above and tracklist below.

    Toro Y Moi – Anything In Return tracklist:

    1. Harm In Change
    2. Say That
    3. So Many Details
    4. Rose Quartz
    5. Touch
    6. Cola
    7. Studies
    8. High Living
    9. Grown Up Calls
    10. Cake
    11. Day One
    12. Never Matter
    13. How’s It Wrong