‘The Velvet Underground & Nico’ Gets Reissued With Covers By Ty Segall, Thee Oh Sees, White Fence, And More

    Can you believe that it’s been 45 years since The Velvet Underground released their seminal debut album The Velvet Underground & Nico? The album changed music and introduced lo-fi experimental art rock to a new generation of musicians and the cover, which was designed by Andy Warhol, is one of the most iconic in music history.

    On the heels of the album’s anniversary, UMe and Castle Face Records will be releasing The Velvet Underground & Nico by Castle Face And Friends along with a monster limited edition six CD Super Deluxe box set.

    The first release will feature indie artists covering songs from the album, including Ty Segall (“Femme Fatale”), Thee Oh Sees (“European Son”), White Fence (“Run Run Run), The Fresh and Onlys (“All Tomorrow’s Parties”) among others.

    If that’s not enough, the six CD set will feature 30 previously unreleased tracks, including a previously unavailable November ’66 live concert performed by the Velvets’ original, lineup—Lou Reed, John Cale, Sterling Morrison, Moe Tucker and Nico—at the Valleydale Ballroom in Columbus, Ohio and Nico’s Chelsea Girl.

    Additional formats include a brand-new two-CD Deluxe Edition, which includes a stereo version of the album along with a separate disc of the Factory rehearsals and Scepter Studios sessions. There will also be a digital exclusive and a one-CD original stereo album remastered in both physical and digital formats.

    The Velvet Underground & Nico by Castle Face And Friends will be available Nov. 6 on vinyl only, while the reissue will be released on Oct. 30.

    The Velvet Underground & Nico by Castle Face And Friends Tracklist:

    A Side

    1. “Sunday Morning” – Kelly Stoltz
    2. “I’m Waiting For The Man” – Warm Soda
    3. “Femme Fatale” – Ty Segall
    4. “Venus In Furs” – Blasted Canyons feat. Jeremy Cox (of Royal Baths)
    5. “Run Run Run” – White Fence
    6. “All Tomorrow’s Parties” – The Fresh & Onlys

    B Side

    1. “Heroin” – Burnt Ones
    2. “There She Goes Again” – The Mallard
    3. “I’ll Be Your Mirror” – Here Comes The Here Comes
    4. “The Black Angel’s Death Song” – K. Dylan + The Black Angel’s Death Songsmen
    5. “European Son” – Thee Oh Sees