News ·

The Smiths reunite (to compile rarities collection)

The Smiths (well at least the only members people can name, Morrisey and Johnny Marr) have reunited to work on a greatest hits compilation. The set, titled The Sound of The Smiths, is due out in November. Morrisey named the comp, while Marr has been overseeing its re-mastering.


The set will come in either a one or two disc set. The one disc set will include 23 of the band’s singles, or songs that were intended as singles. The two-disc set will include the first disc, and an additional disc of deep cuts, rare b-sides and live recordings, including “Pretty Girls Make Graves,” and live versions of tracks like “Meat is Murder.”


Here’s the tracklist:


Disc One:
01 Hand In Glove
02 This Charming Man
03 What Difference Does It Make? (John Peel Session)
04 Still Ill
05 Heaven Knows Im Miserable Now
06 William, It Was Really Nothing
07 How Soon Is Now? (12-inch vinyl version)
08 Nowhere Fast
09 Shakespeares Sister
10 Barbarism Begins At Home (seven-inch vinyl version)
11 That Joke Isnt Funny Anymore
12 The Headmaster Ritual
13 The Boy With The Thorn In His Side
14 Bigmouth Strikes Again
15 There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
16 Panic
17 Ask
18 You Just Havent Earned It Yet, Baby
19 Shoplifters of the World Unite
20 Sheila Take a Bow
21 Girlfriend in a Coma
22 I Started Something I Couldnt Finish
23 Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me

Disc Two:
01 Jeane
02 Handsome Devil (Live)
03 This Charming Man (New York Vocal)
04 Wonderful Woman
05 Back To The Old House
06 These Things Take Time
07 Girl Afraid
08 Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want
09 Stretch Out And Wait
10 Oscillate Wildly
11 Meat Is Murder (Live)
12 Asleep
13 Money Changes Everything
14 The Queen Is Dead
15 Vicar In A Tutu
16 Cemetry Gates
17 Half A Person
18 Sweet And Tender Hooligan
19 Pretty Girls Make Graves (Troy Tate Demo)
20 Stop me If You Think Youve Heard This One Before
21 Whats The World? (Live)
22 London (Live)

50 Cent, Beyonce, Jay-Z - 50 Cent says Jay-Z was unknown until marriage to Beyonce Los Campesinos! Los Campesinos! reveal We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed details
The Smiths

it's a start. i'll take it! haha

/site_media/uploads/images/users/bryan/staff_bryankremkau.jpg BrYan

And it didn't end in murder? well done.

/site_media/uploads/images/users/Ethan/nirvana-corporate-rock-whoresjpg.jpg EStan

It doesn't seem like much of a "rarities" comp...

/site_media/uploads/images/users/dukkookim/6460_1130716601218_1626340558_309884_1280450_njpg.jpg dukkookim

the troy tate sessions are pretty amazing though, if you've never had the chance to hear them...

/site_media/uploads/images/users/leefull/109lamp.jpg leefull

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments