The Slits Return with Trapped Animal

    Legendary girl punk band the Slits have announced plans to release their third full-length album, Trapped Animal, in October. The set will be group’s first full-length since 1981’s Return of the Giant Slits (they released a comeback EP, Revenge of the Killer Slits, in 2006).


    Longtime frontwoman Ari Up is still around, and so is bassist Tessa Pollitt. Joing the reformed Slits is Hollie Cook (daughter of Sex Pistol Paul Cook), Anna Shlute and Adele Wilson. The first single from Trapped Animal, “Ask Ma,” is due out in August.


    The album will feature 14 tracks of the Slits reggae-tinged punk rock, and will be released on October 6 via Narnack. 2009 marks the 30th Anniversary of the band’s debut album, Cut, and along with the new album, a book about the band, Typical Girls? The Story of The Slits will also be out this fall.


    Here’s the track list:

    1. Ask Ma
    2. Lazy Slam
    3. Pay Rent
    4. Reject
    5. Trapped Animals
    6. Issues
    7. Peer Pressure
    8. Partner From Hell
    9. Babylon
    10. Cry Baby
    11. Reggae Gypsy
    12. Be It
    13. Cant Relate
    14. Had A Day