The Shins Announce New Album, ‘Port Of Morrow’

    It’s been nearly five years since the Shins’ third album, Wincing the Night Away, came out, and it’s been two years since the band seemingly imploded, or at least since James Mercer booted out everyone but himself. The rumor was that Shins were no more, but Mercer has been touring with new members recently, and he’s apparently ready to release the band’s fourth album.

    In March, Columbia, and Mercer’s Aural Apothecary label, will release Port of Morrow, the new Shins album. Mercer wrote all the songs and recorded most of the instruments, and it was produced by Greg Kurstin, who has manned boards for Lily Allen. The album is due out on a Tuesday in March, but which one hasn’t been announced. Here’s the track list:

    • 01 The Rifle’s Spiral
    • 02 Simple Song
    • 03 It’s Only Life
    • 04 No Way Down
    • 05 September
    • 06 Bait and Switch
    • 07 Fall of ’82
    • 08 For a Fool
    • 09 40 Mark Strasse
    • 10 Port of Morrow