The Sex Pistols to Release Early Demos

    To celebrate the thirtieth anniversary of its recording, The Sex Pistols will finally be giving an official release to their legendary bootleg album Spunk. The album, consisting of twelve of the bands earliest demos will see a U.K. release July 17 on Castle Music/Sanctuary Records. As of now, there are no plans for a North American release. The product of three separate recording sessions with recording engineer Dave Goodman, Spunk is perhaps most notable for the fact that it is the only collection of Sex Pistols material that features the original lineup of Glen Matlock, Steve Jones, Johnny Rotten and Paul Cook. Matlock wound up leaving the group shortly before they entered the studio to record Never Mind The Bullocks.


    The album will be released in both CD and LP formats, with the vinyl edition being limited to one thousand numbered copies. Of course, in order to sucker you into buying both, the CD version will include three bonus tracks, Anarchy in the U.K., Pretty Vacant, and No Fun.






    Feelings (a.k.a. “No Feelings”)

    Just Me (a.k.a. “I Wanna Be Me”)


    Nookie (a.k.a. “Anarchy In The U.K.”)

    No Future (a.k.a. “God Save The Queen”)


    Lots Of Fun (a.k.a. “Pretty Vacant”)


    Who Was It (a.k.a. “EMI”)

    Looking For A Kiss (a.k.a. “New York”)

    Anarchy In The U.K. (Denmark Street demo July ’76)

    Pretty Vacant (Denmark Street demo July ’76)

    No Fun (Unedited version October ’76)