The Sea And Cake Announces New Album, ‘Runner,’ Out In September

    Long-time Chicago rockers the Sea and Cake have been churning out albums since 1994, even when the band shares members with Tortoise and members Sam Prekop and Archer Prewitt have been putting out plenty of their own solo material. We last heard from the Sea and Cake on their 2011 mini-LP, the excellently lush The Moonlight Butterfly, and now the guys are back with a follow-up to Butterfly, and their first full-length since 2008’s Car Alarm.

    The new record, Runner, is the band’s tenth album and it will be out Sept. 18 on Thrill Jockey, and the band will hit the road soon after that. The album features ten tracks and if “Harp,” the first available song from the record, is any indication, the band is swinging away from the leaner guitars of Car Alarm and digging deeper into the synth-y layers of The Moonlight Butterfly. Take a look at Runner’s tracklist below, and stream “Harp” while you’re at it. You can find more info on the album here, and check out the dates on their supporting tour here.


    01 On and On
    02 Harp
    03 A Mere
    04 The Invitations
    05 Skyscraper
    06 Harbor Bridges
    07 New Patterns
    08 Neighbors and Township
    09 Pacific
    10 The Runner