The Roots Reveal ‘Undun’ Album Art, Guest Features

    Dec. 6 marks the release of the Roots’ latest studio album, Undun. And even though they will be 13 records deep, Undun serves as the Philadelphia hip-hop band’s first-ever concept album. As we previously reported, it details the life of Redford Stephens, a man who died at the age of 25 in 1999. And for the most part, it will be the group’s frontman, Black Thought, telling most of the story.

    The recently revealed full track listing shows that only four tracks feature guests, which should silence critics who thought that the past few Roots records were far too dependent on outside MCs. You can view the track listing and the “Tip the Scale” video below. [2DBZ]

    1. The Un
    2. Sleep
    3. Make My f. Big K.R.I.T.
    4. One Time f. Phonte & Dice Raw
    5. Kool On f. P.O.R.N.
    6. The Other Side
    7. Stomp f. P.O.R.N.
    8. Lighthouse
    9. I Remember
    10. Tip The Scale
    11. Redford (For Yia Yia & Pappou)
    12. Possibility
    13. Will To Power
    14. Finality

    Update: The final tracks on the album, “Redford (For Yia Yia & Pappou)” through “Finality,” are actually one four-part movement based on Sufjan Stevens’ “Redford” track off his Greetings From Michigan album. Stevens even plays piano on the first movement. [Spin]