The Rapture to release new (remix) album

    Dance-punk both blew up and disappeared courtesy of the genre’s first it-kids The Rapture (thanks to Echoes bringing the genre above ground and their shoddy second album Pieces of the People We Love delivering the final nail in the coffin), and it seems like no one’s really waiting with bated breath for a new album from the band. Instead of hopping back into the awkwardly dancing saddle to cut their third album, the band are releasing a remix album called Tapes.


    The set comes out on October 20, and features the Rapture reworking songs from Ghostface Killah, Richie Havens, and The Bar-Kays, among others. The set’s apparent theme is “New York Underground.”


    Tapes track list:


    The Undisputed Truth: “Earthquake Shake”
    Ghostface Killah: “Daytona 500”
    Junkyard Band: “The Word”
    The Bar-Kays: “Holy Ghost”
    Vaughan Mason And Crew: “Bounce, Rock, Skate, Roll”
    Northend: “Tee”s Happy”
    Don Armando”s Second Avenue Rumba Band: “I”m An Indian Too”
    Martin Circus: “Disco Circus”
    Arcade Lover: “Fantasy Lines”
    Thomas Bangalter: “Club Soda”
    Kiloo And Phonique: “The Passion (Phonique Mix Down)”
    Armand Van Helden: “Flowerz”
    Cajmere feat. Dajae: “Say U Will”
    Syclops: “Where”s Jason´s K”
    DJ Mujava: “Township Funk”
    Donk Boys: “Cpstyre”
    Dances With White Girls: “Everybody´s Got To Make A Living”
    Alter Ego: “Why Not?!”
    Paul Johnson: “Get Get Down (Extended Mix)”
    Kid Crème: “Austin”s Groove”
    Richie Havens: “Going Back To My Roots”
    Galaxy 2 Galaxy: “Afro Arps And Minimoogs (S2)”