The Music Tapes Announce ‘Mary’s Voice’

    Julian Koster, of famed Elephant Six Collective bands like Neutral Milk Hotel and Olivia Tremor Control, announced the third album from his own project, The Music Tapes. It is called Mary’s Voice, and it is due out September 4 via Merge. It has been four years since The Music Tapes last record, Music Tapes for Clouds and Tornadoes, but it looks like Mary’s Voice marks the beginning of a new stage of productivity for Koster. It is the first half of a planned two-part album series, and there is a circus tent tour in the works to support it. There is also a planned radio serial in the works for NPR, although there is no word yet on whether it is related to these albums. Read the official announcement over at Merge and check out the track list below.

    Mary’s Voice track list:

    1.  The Dark Is Singing Songs (Sleepy Time Down South)
    2.  Saw and Calliope Organ on Wire
    3.  S’ Alive (Pt. 1)
    4.  The Big Beautiful Shops (It’s Said That It Could Be Anyone)
    5.  Spare the Dark Streets
    6.  To All Who Say Goodnight
    7.  Kolyada #3
    8.  Playing “Evening”
    9.  Go Home Again
    10.  S’ Alive to Be Known (May We Starve)
    11.  Untitled
    12.  Takeshi and Elijah