The Knife Issue More Details On ‘Tomorrow, In a Year’

    A few details about the Knife’s forthcoming album Tomorrow, In a Year have already emerged, but now a full tracklisting and release date have been issued. The album will be released on Mute on March 9, which will be preceded by a special digital download edition, which is available on Feb. 2.


    The record was commissioned by Danish performance group Hotel Pro Forma, who asked the Knife to write the music for their opera based on Charles Darwin’s On the Origin of the Species. The first performance of Tomorrow, In a Year was on Sept. 2, 2009, in Copenhagen, and further stagings are due in Europe later this year.


    “At first it was very difficult as we really didn’t know anything about opera,” said Olof Dreijer in a press release. “We’d never been to one. I didn’t even know what the word libretto meant. But after some studying, and just getting used to opera’s essence of pretentious and dramatic gestures, I found that there is a lot to learn and play with.”


    Tracklisting for Tomorrow, In a Year:


    CD 1

    01. Intro

    02. Epochs

    03. Geology

    04. Upheaved

    05. Minerals

    06. Ebb Tide Explorer

    07. Variation of Birds

    08. Letter to Henslow

    09. Schoal Swarm Orchestra


    CD 2

    01. Annie’s Box

    02. Tumult

    03. Colouring of Pigeons

    04. Seeds

    05. Tomorrow in a Year

    06. The Height of Summer


    Bonus track

    07. Annie’s Box (alt. vocal)