Download Kids These Days’ Free Album ‘Traphouse Rock’

    Emerging as a refreshing alternative to the mass of drill rap in Chicago, Kids These Days has already had a stellar year so far. The seven-piece Windy City band, whose sound incorporates everything from hip-hop to jazz to blues, has collaborated with Asher Roth, jammed with Kid Cudi and performed live on Conan, but are now looking to bring 2012 to a triumphant close with the release of their new LP, Traphouse Rock, out this Tuesday, Oct. 30.

    The album has already spawned a number of impressive tracks—”Don’t Harsh My Mellow,” “Who Do U-Luv” and “Bud Billiken“—and the quality doesn’t falter throughout the rest of the record. Lead by frontman MC Vic Mensa’s emotive lyricism, Macie Stewart’s sublime supporting vocals and the soulful instrumentation crafted by Nico Segal, Greg Landfair Jr and co., Traphouse Rock plays like an album with the maturity and classical sensibilities of yesteryear—but one that absolutely speaks to today’s youth.

    You can download Traphouse Rock for free right here via DJBooth, and stream the album in full over on Rolling Stone if you prefer to try-before-you-buy (although we assure you that isn’t necessary here).

    Kids These Days – Traphouse Rock tracklist:

    1. (Intro) mental

    2. Freakwhensees

    3. GHETTO

    4. Doo-Wah

    5. Don’t Harsh My Mellow

    6. Talk 2 You

    7. Everybody Needs Somebody

    8. Don’t Fall In Love

    9. Bud Billiken

    10. Don’t Blame Me (For You)

    11. Wasting Time

    12. Aint Got Love

    13. Who Do U-Luv

    14. L’Afrique

    15. A Man’s Medley