Stars’ Fifth Album, ‘The Five Ghosts,’ Out June 22

    The title of Stars’ The Five Ghosts, out June 22, may refer to the fact that the band has five members, who created the album “in a huge room writing songs off the floor,” as singer Amy Millan described it. From the mini-documentary Making Of, Part One, though, it looks more like quibbling in a studio, mostly over melodies. Tom McFall returns to produce this album — he also produced Stars’ pivotal Set Yourself On Fire in 2005 — and in a way it’s comforting to hear him chide singer Torquil Campbell: “The last line is a little thrown away … in terms of pitch and delivery.” It is, after all, Stars’ theatrical and emotionally saturated melodies that have made them one of Canada’s most beloved indie bands over the course of their career, which includes four previous albums. The Five Ghosts is the first release on the band’s new label, Soft Revolution Records. Stars is scheduled to play the U.S. this summer, performing the album in its entirety at each show, in addition to fan selections.


    Track List:

    01 Dead Hearts
    02 Wasted Daylight
    03 I Died So I Could Haunt You
    04 Fixed
    05 We Don’t Want Your Body
    06 He Dreams He’s Awake
    07 Never Been Good With Change
    08 The Passenger
    09 The Last Song Ever Written
    10 How Much More
    11 Winter Bones