News ·

Sonic Youth Reveal More Details About New Album: <i>The Eternal</i>

Sonic Youth Eternal Album CoverDetails about Sonic Youth's upcoming 19th album, The Eternal, have been leaking out a snail's pace over the last few months. First there was news that the band signed to Matador. Then the album was announced with  a June 2009 release date. Then they started Tweeting about song titles.


Now the Matablog has the hard details regarding The Eternal--It's slated for a June 9 release, it has 12 tracks (see the full list below), features a bunch of shared vocal duties between Thurston Moore, Lee Ranaldo, and Kim Gordon, has a cover (to your upper left), and will feature the album debut of Sonic Youth touring bassist Mark Ibold, who was a member of Pavement from 1992-1999.


Matador has announced they'll be releasing the album through their Buy Early Get Now program with bonus material, which will be announced at a later date.


Here's The Eternal's track list:


01 Sacred Trickster
02 Anti-Orgasm
03 Leaky Lifeboat(for Gregory Corso)
04 Antenna
05 What We Know
06 Calming The Snake
07 Poison Arrow
08 Malibu Gas Station
09 Thunderclap For Bobby Pyn
10 No Way
11 Walkin Blue
12 Massage The History
Limp Bizkit - Limp Bizkit Reunites. Douchebags Rejoice. New Piano Gloves Teach You to Respond to Glove Vibrating
Sonic Youth

Looking forward to this. The new songs that Sonic Youth played at McCarren Park Pool back in August sounded great.

/site_media/uploads/images/users/vivatherock/mejpg.jpg kbachor

Yeah, I'm also looking forward to this. I think Matador will be a great home for them.

/site_media/uploads/images/users/nick/461770063_f6a8d92e3a_s.jpg nick

I'm always down for new Sonic Youth!

/site_media/uploads/images/users/Banger/images-6jpg.jpg B/|nGerKat


/site_media/uploads/images/users/jonjon66/letoile-rocknroll by steve wolf.jpg jonjon66

More group vocals? This will be awesome. Sonic Youth have a way of sucking up "what's going on with the kids" and turning it into their own thing.

/site_media/uploads/images/users/Johnmel/P1270021.jpg Johnmel

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments