Sigur Ros To Return With ‘Valtari’ In May

    If you have been (im)patiently waiting for a new album from everyone’s favorite Icelandic post-rock band, you’re in luck. Q Magazine reports that Jonsi and company will release their follow-up to 2008’s Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust this coming May 28 in the U.K. Like Consequence of Sound, we’re assuming the new album, Valtari, will drop the following day in the States.

    Apparently the record will have a “heavy and floaty” feel to it — yeah, that sounds about right — with an electronic influence. Jonsi was quick to point out that that doesn’t mean his band is making a dance album. He added that there will be no lyrics sung in English.

    You can view a partial track listing of the album below.

    1. Ég Anda
    2. Ekki Múkk
    3. Varúð
    4. Rembihnútur
    5. Dauðalogn
    6. Varðeldur
    7. Valtari
    8. Fjögur píanó


    Update: It’s now been confirmed that Sigur Ros will release Valtari on May 29 in the States via XL Recordings. In addition to this news, the band has shared a stream of “Ekki Mukk” and reveald the full track listing and artwork. Peep the track listing above this text and keep looking up for the art. Here’s what bassist Georg Holm had to say about the album:

    “I really can’t remember why we started this record, I no longer know what we were trying to do back then. I do know session after session went pear-shaped, we lost focus and almost gave up…did give up for a while. But then something happened and form started to emerge, and now I can honestly say that it’s the only Sigur Rós record I have listened to for pleasure in my own house after we’ve finished it.”