Sample Two Tracks From “Bob Dylan in the 80s”

    Bob Dylan in the 80s: Volume One collects contemporary artists covering tracks from Dylan’s most maligned period. It was a time when he was shapeshifting, finding religion, reposturing. But, as many documentaries and loons who call themselves “Dylanologists” have pointed out, there’s a lot of great material buried in the 80s. This compilation mines a bit of that, including some Traveling Wilburys material. 

    Two tracks from the album have made their way online. You can take a listen to Reggie Watts’ dancehall take on “Brownsville Girl” at SPIN and then you can hear the often hated-on “Wiggle Wiggle” covered by Ween’s Aaron Freeman and Slash at Stereogum. (Count me among the “Wiggle Wiggle haters, but there’s something kind of charming about this cover.) Then, you can hear the previously released Built to Spill cover of “Jokerman” below. 

    Producers Jesse Lauter (Elvis Perkins, The Low Anthem) and Sean O’Brien (Dawes, PAPA) have collected a great group of artists, aside from the above, to cover Dylan’s 80s work including Craig Finn (of the Hold Steady), Glen Hansard, Bonnie “Prince” Billy, Lucius, Langhorne Slim, Deer Tick, Dawn Landes, Blitzen Trapper, Carl Broemel Of My Morning Jacket, Elvis Perkins and more.

    The album is out March 25 via ATO and you can find more about the comp at its official website. Full tracklist below.  


    1)     Langhorne Slim & The Law – “Got My Mind Made Up”(from Knocked Out Loaded, 1986)

    2)     Built To Spill – “Jokerman” (from Infidels, 1983)

    3)     Reggie Watts – “Brownsville Girl (Reprise)” (from Knocked Out Loaded, 1986)

    4)     Craig Finn (The Hold Steady) – “Sweetheart Like You” (from Infidels, 1983)

    5)      Ivan & Alyosha – “You Changed My Life” (from Shot Of Love outtakes, 1981)

    6)     Deer Tick – “Night After Night” (from Hearts of Fire Soundtrack, 1987)

    7)     Dawn Landes & Bonnie “Prince” Billy – “Dark Eyes” (from Empire Burlesque, 1985)

    8)     Tea Leaf Green – “Waiting To Get Beat” (from Empire Burlesque outtakes, 1985)

    9)     Aaron Freeman of Ween & Slash – “Wiggle Wiggle (from Under The Red Sky, 1990)

    10)  Elvis Perkins – “Congratulations” (from Traveling Wilburys Vol. 1, 1988)

    11)  Hannah Cohen – “Covenant Woman” (from Saved, 1980)

    12)  Marco Benevento – “Every Grain Of Sand” (from Shot Of Love, 1981)

    13)  Yellowbirds – “Series Of Dreams” (from Oh Mercy outtakes, 1989)

    14)  Blitzen Trapper – “Unbelievable” (from Under The Red Sky, 1990)

    15)  Lucius – “When The Night Comes Falling From The Sky” (from Empire Burlesque, 1985)

    16)  Glen Hansard – “Pressing On” (from Saved, 1980)

    17)  Carl Broemel (My Morning Jacket) – “Death Is Not The End” (from Down In The Groove, 1988)


    Then there are seven bonus tracks that will only be available via download through iTunes. 

    1)     Spirit Family Reunion – “Man Of Peace” (from Infidels, 1983)

    2)     Widespread Panic – “Solid Rock” (from Saved, 1980)

    3)     Grayson Capps – “Silvio” (from Down In The Groove, 1988)

    4)     Neal Casal – “Property Of Jesus” (from Shot Of Love, 1981)

    5)     The Low Anthem – “Lenny Bruce” (from Shot Of Love, 1981)

    6)     Jesse Elliott (These United States) – “Handy Dandy” (from Under The Red Sky, 1990)

    7)     Chastity Brown – “Saving Grace” (from Saved, 1980)