Rock Plaza Central to Self-Release New Album in May. Download “Handsome Men” Now.


    It’s been a wild two and a half years since Rock Plaza Central self-released their eccentric and joyful album, Are We Not Horses? The album received a surprising, but much-deserved, amount of press. The band played a ton of shows all over the place. Yep Roc re-released the album. And heck, the album was even included in the curriculum in a graduate English program at the University of South Alabama. These guys don’t just break your heart with their beautiful, zealous sound, they’ll educate the hell out of you!


    And now, Chris Eaton and company are back with a new disc. Titled …At the Moment of Our Most Needing, the band will release the album themselves on May 12. According to Eaton, the 13-track album was inspired by William Faulkner’s Light of August, "about a young woman who, at 8 and a half months pregnant, goes off in search of the man she thinks is in love with her. She has no shoes but she has faith. The record is perhaps my love song to her. Searching for her. About thirteen months pregnant. And even when she rebukes me, I will know the world was good enough."


    If that description doesn’t make you curious, maybe the sound of "(Don’t You Believe the Words of) Handsome Men" will. Eaton’s strong barking vocals, and the fits of horns and strings swirling around him might remind you of Are We Not Horses?, but there’s a new, sun-soaked space to this song that works really well. I’ll miss all that talk of steel horses, but Rock Plaza Central seem right at home living in Faulkner’s South, even if they’re from Canada. You can download "Handsome Men" right here on Prefix. And be sure to keep an eye on the band’s MySpace page to find out how to get your hands on a copy of this disc come May.


    …At the Moment of Our Most Needing Track list:


    01 Oh I Can

    02 A Mule on Fire

    03 (Don’t You Believe the Words of ) Handsome Men


    04 O Lord, How Many Are My Foes

    05 (The World is) Good Enough

    06 Country C

    07 Them That Are Good and Them That Are Bad

    08 The Wrong Side of the Right

    09 Holy Rider

    10 The Long Dead March

    11 We Are Full of Light (That Blinds Us at the Moment of our Most Needing)

    12 Wherever You Are, I’m Home

    13 The Hot Blind Earth