RAISE Hope For Congo Compilation Features Norah Jones, Mos Def, Bat for Lashes

    In an effort to raise funds for field research and awareness to end the conflict in the Democratic Republic of Congo, artists from across the gamut have come together on the RAISE Hope for Congo compilation. In particular, the research will go toward making the country a safer place for women and girls, who have been the target of rape as a weapon of war. The collection was curated by music writer Nic Harcourt in coordination with Mercer Street Records and Enough, which is a Center for American Progress project that focuses on ending genocide and crimes against humanity. Harcourt selected tracks from artists ranging from Mos Def to Amadou & Mariam to Norah Jones to Sheryl Crow, the latter of whom offers a special reading.


    RAISE Hope for Congo is out now digitally with physical copies due out June 22.


    The track listing is as follows:


    1. Damien Rice – Lonely Soldier
    2. Imaad Wasif – Not Immune

    3. Jesca Hoop – Angel Mom
    4. Meshell Ndegeocello – 40
    5. Staff Benda Bilili – Je t’aime
    6. Angelique Kidjo – Leila
    7. Chantal Kreviazuk – Na Miso
    8. Norah Jones – World of Trouble

    9. Sheryl Crow – My Name is Mwamaroyi
    10. Amel Larrieux – Don’t Let Me

    11. Omékongo Dibinga & Shahin Shahida – Raise Hope

    12. Ozomatli & The Agahoza Shalom Youth Village – Never Again
    13. Bat For Lashes – Sleep Alone
    14. Travis – Before You Were Young (Live at Joe’s Pub)
    15. Rodrigo y Gabriela – Hora Zero (Live at Wecheter)
    16. Amadou & Mariam – Tambara
    17. Konono No 1 – Nsimba & Nzuzi
    18. Mos Def – Priority (A Cappella)