Polaris Music Prize Nominees Announced

    The Polaris Music Prize is an annual award given to the best Canadian album of the year, as determined by a carefully selected jury. It mirrors the set up pf the Mercury Music Prize in the U.K., which operates on a similarly shady premise, where the actual details of how and why the winning album was chosen remains a mystery.


    The nominees for the 2010 incarnation of the prize were announced yesterday at a press conference in Toronto. Damien Abraham from Fucked Up was present at the announcement—his band won last year—although the lineup for the 2010 prize is likely to produce a more conservative victor.


    The 10 albums vying for the prize are:


    The Besnard Lakes: The Besnard Lakes Are The Roaring Night

    Broken Social Scene: Forgiveness Rock Record

    Caribou: Swim

    Karkwa: Les Chemins De Verre

    Dan Mangan: Nice, Nice, Very Nice

    Owen Pallet: Heartland

    Radio Radio: Belmundo Regal

    The Sadies: Darker Circles

    Shad: TSOL

    Tegan And Sara: Sainthood