Pitchfork Festival adds Yeasayer, Blitzen Trapper, and More

    Your huddled indie-rock masses yearning to be psyched just got a few more reasons to smile, with the announcement of some impressive additions to the already pretty awesome lineup for this year’s Pitchfork Music Festival, which takes place July 17-19 in Chicago’s Union Park. Yeasayer and Blitzen Trapper are the biggest names among the latest batch of bands whose names have been appended to the list, but also coming on board will be Mew, Japandroids, and Plants and Animals.


    So, in case you’re the fussy type, and you’re not sufficiently satisfied by a weekend that already includes Tortoise, Yo La Tengo, Built to Spill, and Jesus Lizard performing all-request sets, as well as appearances by  The National, Wavves, Flaming Lips, Grizzly Bear, Vivian Girls, M83, and many more — well, now you’ve just got no excuse for sleeping on this one.


    Full line-up (so far):


    Friday – "Write the Night: Set Lists by Request"
    Built to Spill
    The Jesus Lizard
    Yo La Tengo

    The National
    The Pains of Being Pure at Heart
    Fucked Up
    Plants and Animals*
    Matt and Kim
    Charles Hamilton
    The Duchess and The Duke

    The Flaming Lips
    Grizzly Bear
    The Walkmen
    Pharoahe Monch
    Blitzen Trapper*
    Black Lips
    The Very Best
    Vivian Girls

    * Just added