Patti Smith Releasing New Album, ‘Banga’

    We’ve known since January that Patti Smith was working on a new album that would include a tribute to Amy Winehouse. Now, more details on that record have emerged, with Smith revealing its title, Banga, and putting out a digital single yesterday, appropriately titled “April Fool.”

    Television frontman Tom Verlaine features on “April Fool,” which will be included on Banga when it’s released on June 5. The album was produced by Smith and her band, including long-term collaborator Lenny Kaye. The Winehouse tribute track is titled “This is the Girl,” and the album closes with a song titled “After the Gold Rush,” although it’s not yet clear if that’s a cover of the Neil Young track of the same name.

    Banga track listing:

    1. Amerigo
    2. Fuji-san
    3. April Fool
    4. This is the Girl
    5. Banga
    6. Maria
    7. Tarkovsky (The Second Stop is Jupiter)
    8. Mosaic
    9. Nine
    10. Seneca
    11. Constantine’s Dream
    12. After the Gold Rush