News ·

Oren Ambarchi Announces Release Date For New Recording With Jim O'Rourke, Thomas Brinkmann, & Others

47-Minute Record With a Sprawling Cast of Musicians

Australian guitarist, percussionsist, and general experimenter Oren Ambarchi has announced plans to release a 47-minute piece featuring special guests from around the globe. The recording, titled Quixotism, will be released on September 29 via Editions Mego

Guests on the recording will include Jim O'Rourke, whom Ambarchi collaborated with on 2013's improvised Now While It’s Still Warm Let Us Pour In All The Mystery. Also appearing is techno minimalist Thomas Brinkmann, Matt Chamberlain, Crys Cole, Eyvind Kang, John Tilbury, U-zhaan, and Ilan Volkov & the Icelandic Symphony Orchestra. 

Parts of the album were recorded in Cologne, Reykjavik, Melbourne, Seattle, London, Los Angeles, and Tokyo, Wire is reporting. 

Take a look at the excellent cover art above. 

Take a listen Ambarchi's fantastic, bass-heavy "Sagittarian Domain" below.


- Blog Scour 07.14.14 (Monday) Miguel, The Code Stream The Code "How Many Drinks" (Miguel Cover)
Crys Cole
Eyvind Kang
Icelandic Symphony Orchestra
Ilan Volkov
Jim O'Rourke
John Tilbury
Matt Chamberlain
Oren Ambarchi
Thomas Brinkmann

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments