New Neil Young Songs, Albums To Be Released

    Not only does Neil Young continue to write new material, but he’s got loads of unreleased songs and albums that have yet to come out through his Archives series. Tracks from his upcoming album, produced by Renaissance man Daniel Lanois, will be debuted as part of Lanois’ contribution to the Nuit Blanche festival in Toronto on Oct. 2. As Lanois tells the Toronto Star, “At the strike of midnight, we will premiere four tracks from the Neil Young record, visually and sonically.” Sounds very new media.


    In addition to that, Young is putting out four previously unreleased albums: Chrome Dreams, Homegrown, Oceanside-Countryside and the live album Odeon-Budokan. Chrome Dreams has a lot of songs that would end up on Rust Never Sleeps, and the country-tinged Homegrown was mined on several late ’70s Young albums like Zuma and American Stars n’ Bars. They were recorded during the same time period that Volume 2 of the Archives series will cover, 1972-1982, so they can’t be that bad. Right after Harvest and right before Trans! Groovy. A bigger box set for Volume 2 will also come out whenever he wants; most of us are still digging through Volume 1, so there’s no rush. Listen to an acoustic version of the classic “Powderfinger,” recorded for Chrome Dreams, right below. [Spinner]