New Magnetic Fields Album, Realism, Out Jan. 26

    Magnetic Fields have announced the release date of their new album — and hey, act surprised: it’s a concept venture. Realism is to follow 2008’s Distortion, which exploited that idea using both musical and psychological avenues (a heartbroken man attacks reality with the bludgeon of booze; a nun dances with the pipe dream of becoming a courtesan). With song titles like “Seduced and Abandoned,” “Walk a Lonely Road” and “Always Already Gone,” expect Stephin Merritt to keep it real.


    Realism will be released on Nonesuch Records, home to such artists as Brian Eno, Laura Veirs, Jeff Tweedy and Philip Glass.


    Here is the track list:


    1. 01 You Must Be Out of Your Mind
    2. 02 Interlude
    3. 03 We Are Having a Hootenanny
    4. 04 I Don’t Know What to Say
    5. 05 The Dolls’ Tea Party
    6. 06 Everything Is One Big Christmas Tree
    7. 07 Walk a Lonely Road
    8. 08 Always Already Gone
    9. 09 Seduced and Abandoned
    10. 10 Better Things
    11. 11 Painted Flower
    12. 12 The Dada Polka
    13. 13 From a Sinking Boat