The National Announce Release of New Album ‘Sleep Well Beast’

    The group’s seventh studio album is slated to drop on September 8.

    The National have just announced the release of their upcoming LP. Entitled Sleep Well Beast, the album will drop on September 8 through the 4AD record label.

    The announcement comes just hours after the group teased fans with two mysterious videos on their Facebook page, with the lines ‘Sleep Well Beast’ and ‘The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness’ scrolling across the bottom. Judging by the epic music in the background of the video, this could be The National’s most ambitious record to date.

    However, it appears that the album wasn’t intended to be announced this early on, but one Twitter user posted a leaked poster with the album title, album cover and the scheduled release date of September 8.

    Along with the album revelation, other info has been dispersed which suggests that the five-piece will be touring alongside folk-rock group Daughter. The leaked poster shows a tour planned for this year, with just one October 6 date for the Forest Hills Stadium in Queens, New York depicted. More tour details are likely to come in the following weeks.

    Frontman for the band Matt Beringer recently discussed the themes of the album, describing it as being “about marriage, and about marriages falling apart.” Speaking of their upcoming release, they’ve also stated that it’s sounding “very f**king amazing.” Their social media icons have also changed to reflect the news, with a house-shaped design replacing their previous logo.


    Sleep Well Beast.

    Posted by The National on Monday, May 8, 2017

    Sleep Well Beast will be the eagerly anticipated successor to their 2013 LP Trouble Will Find Me. The latter received glowing reviews, and saw the band hit the number 3 spot on the Billboard 200 and the UK Albums Chart. It also received a Grammy Award nomination for Best Alternative Music Album, ultimately losing out to Modern Vampires of the City by Vampire Weekend.

    Sleep Well Beast Tracklist

    01. Nobody Else Will Be There
    02. Day I Die
    03. Walk It Back
    04. The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness
    05. Born to Beg
    06. Turtleneck
    07. Empire Line
    08. I’ll Still Destroy You
    09. Guilty Party
    10. Carin at the Liquor Store
    11. Dark Side of the Gym
    12. Sleep Well Beast