N.A.S.A. launch new album featuring Kanye, Karen O, Tom Waits, M.I.A.

    If you’ve been enduring sleepless nights wondering what a duet between Karen O and Ol’ Dirty Bastard would sound like then get ready to rest easy. The debut album from N.A.S.A. (North America/South America) is nearly upon us, and it includes a number of collaborations that read like a mashup artists’ dream come true.

    The band is made up of Squeak E. Clean (composer/producer Sam Spiegel) and DJ Zegon (skateboarder Ze Gonzales), who have been working on the album, titled The Spirit of Apollo, for five long years. The headspinnng collection of collaborations includes tracks featuring Spank Rock, M.I.A., Santagold, and Nick Zinner (on “Whachadoin?”) and Kool Keith and Tom Waits (on “Spacious Thoughts”).

    Personally I can’t wait to hear the results of the unholy match-up between Ol’ Dirty Bastard, Fatlip, and Karen O (on “Strange Enough”). The Spirit of Apollo is due for release on February 17, 2009, on the Anti- label, and N.A.S.A. is promising some spectacular live shows in support of the record.


    Here’s the full album tracklisting:

    01 Intro
    02 The People Tree (ft. David Byrne, Chali 2na, Gift of Gab & Z-Trip)
    03 Money (ft. David Byrne, Chuck D, Ras Congo, Seu Jorge & Z-Trip)
    04 NASA Music (ft. Method Man, E-40 & DJ Swamp)
    05 Way Down (ft. RZA, Barbie Hatch & John Frusciante)
    06 Hip Hop (ft. KRS-One, Fatlip & Slim Kid Tre)
    07 Four Rooms, Earth View
    08 Strange Enough (ft. Karen O, Ol’ Dirty Bastard & Fatlip)
    09 Spacious Thoughts (ft. Tom Waits & Kool Keith)
    10 Gifted (ft. Kanye West and others TBD)
    11 A Volta (ft. Sizzla, Amanda Blank & Lovefoxxx)
    12 There’s a Party (ft. George Clinton & Chali 2na)
    13 Whachadoin? (ft. Spank Rock, M.I.A., Santogold & Nick Zinner)
    14 O Pato (ft. Kool Kojak & DJ Bãboa)
    15 Samba Soul (ft. Del Tha Funkee Homosapien & DJ Qbert)
    16 The Mayor (ft. The Cool Kids, Ghostface Killah, DJ AM & Scarface)
    17 N.A.S.A. Anthem